Appointment of Panel Members

Release number


Document download

The Takeovers Panel notes the announcement by the Minister for Revenue and Financial Services of the reappointment of 5 members and the appointment of 6 new members to the Panel, for terms of 3 years commencing on 23 March 2017.

The President of the Panel, Ms Vickki McFadden congratulated the new and reappointed members and is delighted with their appointment. Ms McFadden said that the Panel's success has depended heavily on the exceptional quality of its members and the willingness of the most experienced and highly regarded professionals and business leaders to make themselves available.

The Panel now has 45 members, all of whom are appointed on a part-time basis. Details of the appointments are attached.

Allan Bulman
Director, Takeovers Panel
Level 10, 63 Exhibition Street
Melbourne VIC 3000
Ph: +61 3 9655 3597

Panel Members Reappointed

Each of the following members has been reappointed:

Ms Karen Evans-Cullen
Ms Michelle Jablko
Mr Ian Jackman SC
Mr Christian Johnston
Mr John Sheahan QC

New Appointments

The following new members were appointed:

Ms Yasmin Allen

Ms Allen is an experienced company director with a strong background in the financial services sector and more than 15 years' experience on the boards of major listed companies. She is currently a non-executive director of Cochlear Limited, Santos Limited and ASX Limited.

Ms Paula Dwyer

Ms Dwyer is a leading company director and is currently Chairman of Tabcorp Holdings Limited and Healthscope Limited and a non-executive director of the ANZ Banking Group and Lion Pty Limited. She was a Panel member from 2008 to 2014.

Ms Rebecca Maslen-Stannage

Ms Maslen-Stannage is a partner at Herbert Smith Freehills practising in the areas of mergers and acquisitions and equity capital markets.

Ms Diana Nicholson

Ms Nicholson is a Senior Partner at King & Wood Mallesons (Melbourne) practising in the areas of acquisitions and takeovers, securities industry law, fundraising and commercial law.

Mr Neil Pathak

Mr Pathak is a partner at Gilbert + Tobin and specialises in listed company takeovers, schemes of arrangement, cross border M&A, capital markets and corporate governance matters having over 20 years of experience in these fields.

Mr David Williamson

Mr Williamson is Deputy Chairman of Flagstaff Partners. He has over 30 years' experience as a corporate lawyer specialising in mergers and acquisitions as a partner of Ashurst (formerly Blake Dawson) and from 2010 to 2013 was Head of Group Legal and Chief Compliance Officer at BHP Billiton.