Panel members

Panel members are appointed by the Governor-General, on the nomination of the Federal Minister, under section 172 of the Australian Securities and Investments Commission Act 2001 (Cth) (ASIC Act). They are nominated based on their knowledge or experience in one or more of the following fields:

  • business
  • administration of companies
  • financial markets
  • financial products and financial services
  • law
  • economics and
  • accounting.

The Minister of a State or the Northern Territory may submit nominations for the Panel to the Federal Minister.  It is intended that the Panel will have an appropriate mix of professions, business expertise, geographical representation and gender representation.

All members are appointed on a part-time basis, usually for three years. They may be re-appointed.

The Governor-General may also appoint one member to be the President of the Panel under section 173 of the ASIC Act (the “substantive President”).  Various provisions in the Corporations Act 2001 (Cth) (Corporations Act) and the ASIC Act refer to the President and his or her functions.  For example, section 657E of the Corporations Act gives the President the power to make interim orders and section 184(2) of the ASIC Act gives the President the power to determine the constitution of a sitting Panel.  When members of the Panel sit to consider proceedings (a “sitting Panel”), the substantive President of the Panel may be the sitting President of that Panel, or he or she may appoint another member to be the sitting President of that Panel.

Our current Panel members

The Panel currently comprises the following members.  For further information about the Panel’s current members, please refer to the Panel’s latest Annual Report.

  Name Organisation Location
1 Mr Alex Cartel (President) Citigroup Melbourne
2 Ms Yasmin Allen AM Company Director Sydney
3 Mr Kelvin Barry UBS AG Melbourne
4 Mr Robin Bishop BGH Capital Melbourne
5 Mr Carl Blanchard New Zealand Takeovers Panel New Zealand
6 Mr Michael Borsky KC Barrister Melbourne
7 Mr Constantine Boulougouris MinterEllison Sydney
8 Mr James Burchnall Kain Lawyers Adelaide
9 Ms Stephanie Charles BGH Capital Melbourne
10 Mr Alberto Colla MinterEllison Melbourne
11 Mr Bruce Cowley Company Director Brisbane
12 Ms Chelsey Drake Allens Brisbane
13 Ms Teresa Dyson Company Director Brisbane
14 Ms Sylvia Falzon Company Director Melbourne
15 Mr Joseph Fayyad Bank of America Sydney
16 Ms Marissa Freund Goldman Sachs Sydney
17 Ms Elizabeth Hallett Company Director Sydney
18 Ms Louise Higgins Australia & New Zealand Banking Group Limited Sydney
19 Dr Ruth Higgins SC Barrister Sydney
20 Ms Tracey Horton AO Company Director Perth
21 Mr Richard Hunt E&P Sydney
22 Ms Michelle Jablko Transurban Melbourne
23 Mr Christian Johnston Goldman Sachs Melbourne
24 Ms Kristen Jung Macquarie Capital Sydney
25 Ms Marina Kelman Telstra Melbourne
26 Mr Bill Koeck Company Director Sydney
27 Mr Jeremy Leibler Arnold Bloch Leibler Melbourne
28 Mr Michael Lishman Lawyer Melbourne
29 Mr Timothy Longstaff Company Director Sydney
30 Ms Sandy Mak Corrs Chambers Westgarth Sydney
31 Mr Ron Malek Luminis Partners Sydney
32 Ms Rebecca Maslen-Stannage Herbert Smith Freehills Sydney
33 Ms Denise McComish Company Director Perth
34 Mr John McGlue Company Director Perth
35 Mr Bruce McLennan Gresham Advisory Partners Sydney
36 Mr Rory Moriarty Clayton Utz Sydney
37 Ms Kerry Morrow Laity Morrow Adelaide
38 Ms Emma-Jane Newton Morgan Stanley Sydney
39 Ms Diana Nicholson King & Wood Mallesons Melbourne
40 Mr Tony Osmond Citigroup Melbourne
41 Mr John O'Sullivan Company Director Sydney
42 Mrs Deborah Page AM Company Director Sydney
43 Mr Neil Pathak Ashurst Melbourne
44 Ms Karen Phin Company Director Sydney
45 Ms Sarah Rennie Jarden Australia Sydney
46 Mr John Sheahan KC Barrister Sydney
47 Mr James Stewart DLA Piper Sydney
48 Ms Philippa Stone Herbert Smith Freehills Sydney
49 Ms Erin Tinker Barrenjoey Sydney
50 Ms Kate Towey Allens Sydney
51 Ms Nicola Wakefield Evans AM Company Director Sydney
52 Ms Sharon Warburton Company Director Perth

Panel member alumni

Please refer to the Panel member alumni page for further information.