Appointment of Panel Members

Release number


Document download

The Takeovers Panel notes the announcement by the Minister for Small Business and Assistant Treasurer of the reappointment of 8 members and the appointment of 6 new members to the Panel, for terms of 3 years commencing on 8 March 2016.

The President of the Panel, Ms Vickki McFadden, herself reappointed as a member and as President, welcomed the new members. Ms McFadden said:

"The executive and I want to thank those members whose terms have ended for the time and effort they have put into sitting on matters and developing policy for the Panel. We welcome the new members and look forward to their valuable contribution to the Panel's work as a dispute resolution body for control transactions."

The Panel now has 39 members, all of whom are appointed on a part-time basis. Details of the appointments are attached.

Allan Bulman
Director, Takeovers Panel
Level 10, 63 Exhibition Street
Melbourne VIC 3000
Ph: +61 3 9655 3597

Panel Members Reappointed

Each of the following members has been reappointed:

Mr Peter Day
Mr James Dickson
Ms Sarah Dulhunty
Ms Elizabeth Hallett
Mr Rod Halstead
Mr Rodd Levy
Ms Denise McComish
Ms Vickki McFadden

New Appointments

The following new members were appointed:

Mr Kelvin Barry

Mr Barry is a Managing Director and Joint Head of Corporate Advisory at UBS Investment Bank.

Mr Robin Bishop

Mr Bishop is Head of Macquarie Capital Australia and New Zealand for Macquarie Group. He has over 20 years' experience in investment banking, working in Australia and the UK. He was a Panel member from 2011 to 2014.

Mr Bruce Cowley

Mr Cowley is the Chairman of MinterEllison and a senior corporate lawyer specialising in capital markets, corporate advisory, mergers and acquisitions and privatisation.

Ms Chelsey Drake

Ms Drake is a partner at Allens practising in the areas of mergers and acquisitions, capital markets and corporate governance.

Ms Shirley In't Veld

Ms In't Veld is an experienced company director and has over 20 years' experience in senior management roles. She is currently a non-executive director of Asciano, DUET Group, Perth Airport, NBN Co and is a board member of the CSIRO.

Mr Bruce McLennan

Mr McLennan is Managing Director and Co-Head of Advisory at Gresham Advisory Partners. He has over 30 years' experience in investment banking.

New Panel Alumni

The following members' terms will finish on 8 March 2016:

Mr Garry Besson
Mr Geoff Brunsdon
Mr David Friedlander
Dr Nora Scheinkestel
Ms Jane Sheridan
Mr Laurie Shervington
Mr Robert Sultan
Mr Anthony Sweetman
Ms Alison Watkins