Appointments of Panel Members

Release number


Document download

The Takeovers Panel welcomes the recent announcement by the Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasurer of the reappointment of 8 members and the appointment of 6 new members to the Panel, for terms of 3 years commencing on 8 March 2012.

The President of the Panel, Ms Kathleen Farrell, welcomed the new members and expressed her gratitude to those whose terms are finishing in 2012.

"The Panel is grateful to its members for contributing their time and expertise when sitting on matters and developing policy. The commitment and professionalism of our members enable the Panel to perform so well" Ms Farrell said.

Ms Farrell added: "My thanks go to those members whose terms are finishing. We are grateful for the significant contributions they made to the work of the Panel."

The Panel now has 52 members, all of whom are appointed on a part-time basis. Details of the appointments and reappointments are attached.

Allan Bulman
Director, Takeovers Panel
Level 10, 63 Exhibition Street
Melbourne VIC 3000
Ph: +61 3 9655 3597

Panel Members Reappointed

Each of the following members has been reappointed:

Mr Martin Alciaturi
Mr John M Green
Mr Peter Hay
Mr Robert Johanson
Mr John Keeves
Ms Francesca Lee
Ms Sophie Mitchell
Ms Heather Zampatti

New Appointments

The following new members were also appointed:

Ms Elizabeth Bryan, Sydney

Ms Bryan is an experienced company director and has over 30 years' experience in the financial services industry, government policy and administration. She is currently Chairman of Caltex Australia Limited and a director of Westpac Banking Corporation.

Mr Mark Darras, Melbourne

Mr Darras is Special Counsel at Sparke Helmore and a company director. Currently he is the Deputy Chairman of Australia Post.

Mr Justin Gleeson SC, Sydney

Mr Gleeson is a practicing barrister in Sydney, specialising in commercial and appellate law. He was admitted to the New South Wales Bar in 1989, having previously worked as a solicitor for 4 years at Freehill, Hollingdale & Page.

Mr Richard Hunt, Sydney

Mr Hunt is a principal of Fort Street Advisers with 20 years' investment banking experience. Previously he held a number of senior roles at UBS Australia including Co-head of Investment Banking Australasia and Head of Real Estate Australasia.

Mr Andrew Low, Sydney

Mr Low is Chairman of RedBridge Grant Samuel and has more than 20 years' M&A experience in Australia, Asia and Europe. Prior to founding RedBridge Grant Samuel, he was Head of Asia for Macquarie Capital (2004-2010) and chaired the Global Operating Committee for Macquarie Capital Advisers.

Mr Ron Malek, Sydney

Mr Malek is Co-Chief Executive of Greenhill Caliburn and has been advising local and international companies for 20 years. He was previously Australasian Head of the Consumer Sector at BZW and ABN AMRO.

New Panel Alumni

The following members' terms will finish on 8 March 2012

Mr David Bennett AC QC
Mr Mark Paganin
Professor Ian Ramsay
Ms Jennifer Seabrook
Ms Karen Wood
Mr Simon Withers