

MEDIA RELEASE

No: TP19/17

Thursday, 28 February 2019

Panel Welcomes New President and Members

The Panel welcomes Alex Cartel as its new President, effective from 8 March 2019. Mr Cartel's appointment was announced today by the Treasurer, the Hon Josh Frydenberg MP, together with the appointment of new, and reappointment of existing, Panel members.

Mr Cartel was appointed as a Panel member in 2015 and has served on numerous sitting Panels and also participated in policy sub-committees.

"Alex has extensive experience in takeovers as an investment banker and earlier as a lawyer specialising in M&A. Alex has made a valuable contribution as a member and the Panel looks forward to Alex's leadership and guidance in his new role", said Allan Bulman, Director.

"The Panel would also like to thank Vickki McFadden for her leadership and support as President since 2013 and as a member since 2008. The Panel has appreciated her leadership, commercial judgement and takeovers experience during this period. A 2015 stakeholder survey found that 89% of respondents were satisfied with the Panel's performance which was due in no small part to Vickki's leadership".

"The Panel wishes to thank Vickki for always making herself available to assist the Panel in providing advice, appointing sitting Panels and considering interim orders".

Ms McFadden's term as President finishes on 7 March 2019.

The Panel welcomes the reappointment of eight members and the appointment of six new members to the Panel, for terms of three years commencing on 8 March 2019. The Panel executive thanks the five members whose terms have ended for their exemplary service to the Panel.

On 8 March 2019, the Panel will have 43 members all of whom are appointed on a part-time basis. Details of the appointments are attached.

Allan Bulman Director, Takeovers Panel Level 10, 63 Exhibition Street Melbourne VIC 3000 Ph: +61 3 9655 3500 takeovers@takeovers.gov.au

New President - Alex Cartel

Mr Cartel is the Co-Head of Corporate Finance, Deutsche Bank AG Australia and was appointed to the Panel in 2015. He has over 25 years' experience in mergers and acquisitions advisory.

New Appointments

The following new members were appointed:

Ms Amy Alston

Ms Alston is an experienced General Counsel and Company Secretary, with experience in a number of senior positions including as General Counsel and Corporate Affairs Director at Murray Goulburn Co-operative Co Ltd.

Mr Michael Borsky QC

Mr Borsky QC is a member of the Victorian Bar and practises in commercial and public law and was a former Management Consultant with McKinsey & Company.

Ms Marissa Freund

Ms Freund is Chief Operating Officer of the Australian and New Zealand M&A business at Goldman Sachs, specialising in public company mergers and acquisitions across a range of sectors.

Mr John McGlue

Mr McGlue is the Managing Director of Castle Gates Australia Pty Ltd and has more than 25 years' experience as a communications and financial markets professional.

Ms Kerry Morrow

Ms Morrow is a director at Laity Morrow. She was previously a partner at Johnson Winter & Slattery.

Ms Philippa Stone

Ms Stone is a partner at Herbert Smith Freehills and specialises in mergers and acquisitions and equity and hybrid raisings.

Panel Members Reappointed

Each of the following members has been reappointed:

Mr Kelvin Barry

Mr Robin Bishop

Mr Bruce Cowley

Ms Chelsey Drake

Ms Elizabeth Hallett

Ms Shirley In't Veld

Ms Denise McComish

Mr Bruce McLennan

New Panel Alumni

The following members' terms will finish on 7 March 2019:

Mr Peter Day

Mr James Dickson

Ms Sarah Dulhunty

Mr Rod Halstead

Mr Rodd Levy

Ms Vickki McFadden (President)