

MEDIA RELEASE

No: TP14/74 Thursday, 28 August 2014

Appointment of Panel Members

The Takeovers Panel welcomes the recent announcement by the Acting Assistant Treasurer of the appointment of 4 members to the Panel, for terms of 3 years up to and including 20 August 2017.

The Panel now has 41 members, all of whom are appointed on a part-time basis. Details of the appointments are attached.

Allan Bulman Director, Takeovers Panel Level 10, 63 Exhibition Street Melbourne VIC 3000 Ph: +61 3 9655 3597 allan.bulman@takeovers.gov.au

Appointments

The following members were appointed:

Mr Lee Dewhirst

Mr Lee Dewhirst is a special counsel at Thomson Geer, with more than 20 years' experience in corporate advisory work and banking and finance. Previously, he was managing partner of Finlaysons Lawyers.

Mr Byron Koster

Mr Byron Koster is a partner at Johnson Winter & Slattery. He has extensive experience in mergers and acquisitions. He was a member of the Takeovers Panel between 2004 and 2013.

Mr Andrew Lumsden

Mr Andrew Lumsden is a partner at Corrs Chambers Westgarth. He regularly advises Australian and overseas clients on contested and negotiated takeovers as well as corporate and securities law matters generally. He was a member of the Takeovers Panel between 2002 and 2011.

Mr Robert McKenzie

Mr Robert McKenzie is a partner at Jackson McDonald and a former partner at Clayton Utz. He regularly acts in resolving corporate disputes, in hostile corporate meetings and in the sale, purchase and financing of businesses and assets, and structuring of projects in a diverse range of industry sectors.