

# MEDIA RELEASE

No: TP13/03

Wednesday, 6 March 2013

# **Appointment of Panel Members**

The Takeovers Panel welcomes the recent announcement by the Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasurer of the reappointment of 15 members and the appointment of three new members to the Panel, for terms of three years commencing on 8 March 2013.

The Director of the Panel, Mr Allan Bulman, welcomed the new members and thanked those whose terms are finishing in 2013.

"We are grateful to our members for contributing their time and expertise when sitting on matters and developing policy. It is their commitment and professionalism that has enabled the Panel to perform so well" Mr Bulman said.

"Our retiring members have made a significant contribution to the work of the Panel, having worked on policy and collectively having been involved in over 70 Panel decisions."

The Panel now has 48 members, all of whom are appointed on a part-time basis. Details of the appointments and reappointments are attached.

Allan Bulman Director, Takeovers Panel Level 10, 63 Exhibition Street Melbourne, VIC 3000 Ph: +61 3 9655 3597

allan.bulman@takeovers.gov.au

## Panel Members Reappointed

Each of the following members has been reappointed:

Mr Garry Besson

Mr Geoff Brunsdon

Mr Ewen Crouch AM

Mr Peter Day

Mr James Dickson

Ms Sarah Dulhunty

Mr David Friedlander

Mr Rod Halstead

Mr Rodd Levy

Dr Nora Scheinkestel

Ms Jane Sheridan

Mr Laurie Shervington

Mr Robert Sultan

Mr Anthony Sweetman

Ms Alison Watkins

### **New Appointments**

The following new members were appointed:

## Ms Fiona Gardiner-Hill, Sydney

Ms Gardiner-Hill is a partner at Herbert Smith Freehills, practising in the areas of mergers and acquisitions, and corporate and securities law, and specialising in public takeover matters.

### Ms Elizabeth Hallett, Sydney

Ms Hallett has over 20 years' experience in mergers and acquisitions, corporate advisory and private equity and is a former partner of Norton Rose Australia. Ms Hallett has been on the board of the Australia-Indonesia Institute and the Children's Medical Research Institute.

### Ms Denise McComish, Perth

Ms McComish is a Chartered Accountant and has been an Audit partner with KPMG in Perth for 20 years. She has extensive experience in providing audit and advisory services to major companies in the energy and natural resources and the financial services sectors. Ms McComish is also a member of the Corporations and Markets Advisory Committee and a member of the KPMG Australia Board.

## **New Panel Alumni**

The following members' terms will finish on 8 March 2013:

Mr Guy Alexander

Mr Graham Bradley AM

Ms Catherine Brenner

Mr Byron Koster

Mr Norman O'Bryan AM SC

Mr Justin Gleeson SC resigned from the Panel on 14 February 2013 upon his appointment as Solicitor-General of Australia.