

MEDIA RELEASE

No: 31/2009

Monday, 4 May 2009

Appointment of Panel Members

The Takeovers Panel welcomed the recent announcement by the Minister for Superannuation and Corporate Law of the reappointment of nine members and the appointment of five new members to the Panel.

The President of the Panel, Mr Simon McKeon, welcomed the new Panel members and said that the Panel's success is due largely to the time and expertise contributed by its members, who are busy and distinguished professionals.

"We have made some significant improvements in the timeliness of our decisions and simplifying panel reasons and guidance, due to the skills, input and support of our very capable and committed members and executive", Mr McKeon said.

Mr McKeon added: "My thanks go to those members of the Panel whose terms have finished. Each of them has made a substantial contribution to the Panel by making it a priority, in their busy schedules, to sit on matters and assist in the development of policy".

The Panel now has 53 members, all of whom are appointed on a part-time basis. Details of the appointments and reappointments are attached.

Allan Bulman Director, Takeovers Panel Level 10, 63 Exhibition Street Melbourne, VIC 3000 Ph: +61 3 9655 3597

allan.bulman@takeovers.gov.au

Panel Members Reappointed

Each of the following members has been reappointed:

Mr Martin Alciaturi

Mr Robert Johanson

Mr John Keeves

Mr Mark Paganin

Professor Ian Ramsay

Ms Jennifer Seabrook

Mr Simon Withers

Ms Karen Wood

Ms Heather Zampatti

New Appointments

The following five new members were also appointed:

Ms Sophie Mitchell, Brisbane

Ms Mitchell is a Director of Corporate & Special Projects for ABN AMRO Morgans. She is also currently Chairman of the Expression Dance Company and a director of Hyperion Flagship Investment Limited and AAM Foundation Ltd.

Mr David Bennett AC QC, Sydney

Mr Bennett is a practising barrister in Sydney. He is a senior and highly respected legal practitioner. He is the former Solicitor-General of Australia (1998-2008) and a former president of the NSW Bar Association and the Australian Bar Association (1995-1997).

Mr John Green, Sydney

Mr Green is a well known and respected company director, business commentator and former mergers and acquisitions practitioner. He is a non executive director of WorleyParsons Ltd, the Centre for Independent Studies, Macquarie Group Foundation, General Sir John Monash Foundation and the Chairman of www.panterapress.com.

Mr Peter Hay, Melbourne

Mr Hay is the Chairman of the Advisory Board at Lazard Carnegie Wylie and is a director of Alumina Ltd, Epworth Foundation, Australia and New Zealand Banking Group Ltd, and Landcare Australia Ltd. He was previously the Chief Executive Officer of Freehills.

Appointment of Panel Members

Ms Francesca Lee, Melbourne

Ms Lee is General Counsel and Company Secretary of OZ Minerals Ltd. She is a current board member and member of the audit committee for the Metropolitan Waste Management Group.

Ms Lee was a Group Counsel at BHP Billiton and has also held a number of senior positions at Rio Tinto Limited including General Manager Legal and General Manager Internal Audit and Risk Review. She was also Vice President of Structured Finance at Citibank Limited.