

MEDIA RELEASE

No: 12/2007

Wednesday, 28 March 2007

Appointment Of Panel Members

The Takeovers Panel welcomed the Treasurer's announcement of the reappointment of twelve members and the appointment of eight new members to the Panel today.

The President of the Panel, Mr. Simon McKeon, welcomed the appointments and repeated his previous comments that the Panel's success is due largely to the time and expertise contributed by its members. Mr McKeon said that Panel members are very busy professionals and business people, and their support, and their organisations' support, of the Panel is heartening, especially in the current business environment.

Mr. McKeon expressed his gratitude to those members of the Panel whose terms were finishing in 2007, each of whom had made a substantial contribution to the Panel, by sitting on matters and by taking part in the development of policy. He wished them well in the endeavours that took them away from the Takeovers Panel.

Mr McKeon noted the growing alumnus of Panel members in Australia's business and takeovers community who have contributed to the Panel as members and who continue to provide support and encouragement to the Panel. Mr McKeon said that this year saw a particularly significant addition to the Panel's alumnus with the departure of Justices Robert Austin and Kim Santow of the NSW Supreme Court. He said that the Justices had provided invaluable support and guidance to the Panel in its developing years. He said that he was also particularly appreciative of the time and support which Mr David Gonski AO had given to the Panel. Mr McKeon said that the Panel's reputation was enhanced by the participation of Australia's business leaders such as Mr Gonski.

The Panel noted the contributions of Mr Denis Byrne who had served as Australia's representative on the New Zealand Takeovers Panel and was leaving the Panel after a long and significant commitment. Mr McKeon welcomed the appointment of Mr David Jones, the new Chairman of the New Zealand Takeovers Panel and thanked the retiring Chairman of the New Zealand Takeovers Panel Mr John King for his commitment to ensuring the two Panels worked together harmoniously.

Mr. McKeon said that the Panel's success depends heavily on the commitment of the professional and business leaders who give their time to the Panel. He said he has been very pleased by the commitment of the Panel's members and organizations to make the Panel's peer review model work in Australia's corporate environment. The Panel now has 48 members, all of whom are appointed on a part-time basis. The usual appointment term is for a period three years.

Nigel Morris Director, Takeovers Panel

Ph: +61 3 9655 3501 nigel.morris@takeovers.gov.au

Panel Members Reappointed

Each of the following members has been reappointed.

Mr. Guy Alexander

Mr. Graham Bradley

Ms. Kathleen Farrell

Ms. Teresa Handicott

Mr. Braddon Jolley

Mr. Byron Koster

Ms. Alison Lansley

Ms. Irene Lee

Mr. Kevin McCann AM

Ms. Marie McDonald

Mr. Norman O'Bryan SC

Mr. Chris Photakis.

New Appointments

The following eight new members were also appointed:

Mr. Thomas Bathurst QC - Sydney Bar

Mr. Garry Besson, Partner, Gilbert & Tobin - Sydney

Ms. Catherine Brenner, Managing Director, Investment Banking ABN AMRO - Sydney

Mr. Geoff Brunsdon, Managing Director and Head of Investment Banking, Merrill Lynch - Sydney

Mr. David Jones, Partner, Jones Young - Auckland*

Mr. Rodd Levy, Partner, Freehills - Melbourne

Mr. Robert Sultan, Partner, Deacons - Melbourne

Mr. Anthony Sweetman, Managing Director, Head of Mergers and Acquisitions, Australia, UBS AG – Sydney

* Mr Jones is also the Chairman of the New Zealand Takeovers Panel.

-

Mr. Thomas Bathurst QC

Mr. Bathurst is a leading QC at the Sydney Bar. He is a senior and highly respected barrister who has exceptional experience and abilities in corporate law and litigation. Mr. Bathurst is also Vice-President of the NSW Bar Association.

Mr. Garry Besson

Mr. Besson is a senior mergers and acquisitions partner at Gilbert & Tobin - Sydney.

Mr. Besson is a widely respected mergers and acquisitions lawyer in Australia.

Ms. Catherine Brenner

Ms. Brenner is a Managing Director of ABN AMRO Rothschild, part of ABN AMRO's investment banking group. Ms Brenner is an experienced investment banker and also sits on the board of a number of public companies.

Mr. Geoff Brunsdon

Mr. Brunsdon is a senior and experienced investment banker in Australia. He is currently Managing Director and Head of Investment Banking at Merrill Lynch International (Australia) Ltd. based in Sydney. Mr. Brunsdon sits on the board of a number of public companies and public charitable organisations.

Mr. David Jones

Mr. Jones is a senior partner at Jones Young in Auckland, New Zealand, a specialist law firm in the capital markets, finance and commercial fields. Mr. Jones is also the newly appointed Chairman of the New Zealand Takeovers Panel. Prior to that appointment he held the position of Deputy Chairman.

Mr. Rodd Levy

Mr. Levy is a mergers and acquisitions partner at Freehills, based in Melbourne. Mr. Levy is a leader in mergers and acquisitions in Australia and is a noted author in the law and strategy of takeovers.

Mr. Robert Sultan

Mr. Sultan is a senior corporate partner at Deacons – Melbourne. Mr. Sultan is a respected lawyer with a wide range of experience in the corporate and mergers and acquisitions fields.

Mr. Anthony Sweetman

Mr. Sweetman is an experienced investment banker in Australia with a focus on public company mergers and acquisitions. Mr. Sweetman is currently Managing Director, Head of Mergers and Acquisitions, Australia, in Investment Banking at UBS AG, Australia Branch.