Appointment of Panel Members [18/03/2011] The Takeovers Panel

PDF icon PDF 74KB

Friday, 18 March 2011

Appointment of Panel Members

The Takeovers Panel welcomes the recent announcement by the Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasurer of the reappointment of 11 members and the appointment of 6 new members to the Panel, for terms of 3 years commencing on 8 March 2011.

The President of the Panel, Ms Kathleen Farrell, said that the Panel is able to perform its work in a timely manner due to the commitment of its members.

"We are grateful to have such highly distinguished professionals involved with the Panel. It is because members make their time and expertise readily available that the Panel is able to offer prompt resolution of takeovers disputes."

Ms Farrell added: "Our thanks and best wishes go to those members who are finishing their terms. It is with their contribution that the Panel recently celebrated a successful 10 years."

The Panel now has 53 members, all of whom are appointed on a part-time basis. Details of the appointments and reappointments are attached.

Allan Bulman
Director, Takeovers Panel
Level 10, 63 Exhibition Street
Melbourne VIC 3000
Ph: +61 3 9655 3597

Panel Members Reappointed

Each of the following members has been reappointed:

Ms Diana Chang
Mr Stephen Creese
Mr Hamish Douglass
Ms Paula Dwyer
Mr John Fast
Mr David Jones
Mr Alastair Lucas
Ms Vickki McFadden
Mr Mike Roche
Mr Peter Scott
Mr Andrew Sisson

New Appointments

The following new members were also appointed:

Mr Robin Bishop, Melbourne

Mr Bishop is an Executive Director and is global head of Macquarie Capital's Industrials Group.  He has 16 years experience in investment banking, working in Australia and the UK.

Ms Stephanie Daveson, Brisbane

Ms Daveson is a partner at Corrs Chambers Westgarth and is the workgroup leader of the Brisbane Corporate Advisory practice. She practices in regulated and unregulated mergers and acquisitions, securities industry law, equity capital markets and corporate governance.

Mr John Humphrey, Brisbane

Mr Humphrey is a partner at Mallesons Stephen Jaques where he specialises in corporate M&A and general commercial work. He is an experienced company director and currently sits on the boards of Downer EDI Limited, Horizon Oil Limited and Wide Bay Australia Limited.

Ms Julie McPherson, Melbourne

Ms McPherson is Senior Vice President Legal, Group General Counsel and Company Secretary of Amcor. She has broad experience in corporate governance, finance and commerce.

Mr Tony Osmond, Melbourne

Mr Osmond is Head of Investment Banking for Australia and New Zealand at Citibank. He has over 17 years experience in large and complex mergers, acquisitions and capital markets transactions for Australia's largest companies.

Mr John Story, Brisbane

Mr Story is Chairman of Tabcorp Holdings Limited, Chairman of Suncorp-Metway Ltd and director of CSR Limited. He was a partner at Corrs Chambers Westgarth for 36 years and retired in 2006.

New Panel Alumni

The following members' terms have finished:

Mr Michael Ashforth
Ms Susan Doyle
Mr Andrew Lumsden
Mr Peter Mason AM
Ms Alice McCleary
Mr Simon Mordant
Mr John O'Sullivan