Panel Members The Takeovers Panel

Panel Members

Panel members are appointed by the Governor-General, on the nomination of the Minister, under s172 of the ASIC Act. There must be a minimum of five members. They are nominated based on their knowledge or experience in one or more of the following fields:

  • business
  • the administration of companies
  • the financial markets
  • law
  • economics
  • accounting.

The Minister of a State or the Northern Territory may submit nominations for the Panel to the Federal Minister. It is intended that the Panel will have an appropriate mix of professions, business expertise, geographical representation and gender representation.

All members are appointed on a part-time basis, usually for three years. They may be re-appointed.

The Governor-General may also appoint one member to be the President of the Panel under s173 of the ASIC Act (the "substantive President"). Various provisions in the Corporations Act and the ASIC Act refer to the President and his or her functions (for example s657E of the Corporations Act gives the President the power to make interim orders and s184(2) of the ASIC Act gives the President power to determine the constitution of a sitting Panel). When members of the Panel sit to consider proceedings (a "sitting Panel"), the substantive President may be the sitting President of that Panel, or he or she may appoint another member to be the sitting President of that Panel.

Current Members

The following are currently members of the Panel.

  Name Organisation Location
1 Mr Alex Cartel (President) Deutsche Bank AG Melbourne
2 Ms Yasmin Allen Company Director Sydney
3 Ms Amy Alston Lawyer Melbourne
4 Mr Kelvin Barry UBS AG Melbourne
5 Mr Robin Bishop BGH Capital Melbourne
6 Mr Michael Borsky QC Barrister Melbourne
7 Ms Stephanie Charles BGH Capital Melbourne
8 Mr Richard Andrew "Andy" Coupe New Zealand Takeovers Panel New Zealand
9 Mr Bruce Cowley MinterEllison Brisbane
10 Ms Chelsey Drake Allens Brisbane
11 Ms Paula Dwyer Company Director Melbourne
12 Ms Teresa Dyson Company Director Brisbane
13 Ms Karen Evans-Cullen PricewaterhouseCoopers Sydney
14 Ms Marissa Freund Goldman Sachs Sydney
15 Ms Elizabeth Hallett Company Director Sydney
16 Ms Tracey Horton AO Company Director Perth
17 Mr Richard Hunt Evans Dixon Sydney
18 Ms Shirley In't Veld Company Director Perth
19 Ms Michelle Jablko Australia & New Zealand Banking Group Limited Melbourne
20 Mr Ian Jackman SC Barrister Sydney
21 Mr Christian Johnston Goldman Sachs Melbourne
22 Mr Bill Koeck Ashurst Australia Sydney
23 Mr Jeremy Leibler Arnold Bloch Leibler Melbourne
24 Mr Ron Malek Luminis Partners Sydney
25 Ms Rebecca Maslen-Stannage Herbert Smith Freehills Sydney
26 Ms Denise McComish KPMG Perth
27 Mr John McGlue Company Director Perth
28 Mr Robert McKenzie Lawyer Perth
29 Mr Bruce McLennan Gresham Advisory Partners Sydney
30 Mr Rory Moriarty Clayton Utz Sydney
31 Ms Kerry Morrow Laity Morrow Adelaide
32 Ms Diana Nicholson King & Wood Mallesons Melbourne
33 Mr Tony Osmond Citigroup Melbourne
34 Mr John O'Sullivan Company Director Sydney
35 Ms Tara Page Royal Automobile Association of South Australia Inc (RAA) Adelaide
36 Mr Neil Pathak Gilbert + Tobin Melbourne
37 Ms Karen Phin Company Director Sydney
38 Ms Sarah Rennie Goldman Sachs Sydney
39 Mr John Sheahan QC Barrister Sydney
40 Ms Philippa Stone Herbert Smith Freehills Sydney
41 Ms Nicola Wakefield Evans Company Director Sydney
42 Ms Sharon Warburton Company Director Perth
43 Mr David Williamson Flagstaff Partners Melbourne