Panel Members The Takeovers Panel

Panel Members

Panel members are appointed by the Governor-General, on the nomination of the Minister, under s172 of the ASIC Act. There must be a minimum of five members. They are nominated based on their knowledge or experience in one or more of the following fields:

  • business
  • the administration of companies
  • the financial markets
  • law
  • economics
  • accounting.

The Minister of a State or the Northern Territory may submit nominations for the Panel to the Federal Minister. It is intended that the Panel will have an appropriate mix of professions, business expertise, geographical representation and gender representation.

All members are appointed on a part-time basis, usually for three years. They may be re-appointed.

The Governor-General may also appoint one member to be the President of the Panel under s173 of the ASIC Act (the "substantive President"). Various provisions in the Corporations Act and the ASIC Act refer to the President and his or her functions (for example s657E of the Corporations Act gives the President the power to make interim orders and s184(2) of the ASIC Act gives the President power to determine the constitution of a sitting Panel). When members of the Panel sit to consider proceedings (a "sitting Panel"), the substantive President may be the sitting President of that Panel, or he or she may appoint another member to be the sitting President of that Panel.

Current Members

The following are currently members of the Panel.

  Name Organisation Location
1 Ms Vickki McFadden (President) Company Director Sydney
2 Ms Yasmin Allen Company Director Sydney
3 Mr Kelvin Barry UBS AG Melbourne
4 Mr Robin Bishop Investment Banker Melbourne
5 Ms Elizabeth Bryan AM Company Director Sydney
6 Mr Alex Cartel Deutsche Bank AG Melbourne
7 Ms Stephanie Charles Credit Suisse Australia Melbourne
8 Mr Richard Andrew "Andy" Coupe New Zealand Takeovers Panel New Zealand
9 Mr Bruce Cowley MinterEllison Brisbane
10 Mr Peter Day Company Director Melbourne
11 Mr Lee Dewhirst Thomson Geer Adelaide
12 Mr James Dickson Piper Alderman Adelaide
13 Ms Chelsey Drake Allens Brisbane
14 Ms Sarah Dulhunty Ashurst Australia Sydney
15 Ms Paula Dwyer Company Director Melbourne
16 Ms Karen Evans-Cullen PricewaterhouseCoopers Sydney
17 Ms Elizabeth Hallett Company Director Sydney
18 Mr Rod Halstead Clayton Utz Sydney
19 Mr Peter Hay Company Director Melbourne
20 Ms Tracey Horton AO Company Director Perth
21 Mr Richard Hunt Fort Street Advisers Sydney
22 Ms Shirley In't Veld Company Director Perth
23 Ms Michelle Jablko Australia & New Zealand Banking Group Limited Melbourne
24 Mr Ian Jackman SC Barrister Sydney
25 Mr Christian Johnston Goldman Sachs Melbourne
26 Mr Bill Koeck Ashurst Australia Sydney
27 Mr Byron Koster Johnson Winter & Slattery Sydney
28 Mr Jeremy Leibler Arnold Bloch Leibler Melbourne
29 Mr Rodd Levy Herbert Smith Freehills Melbourne
30 Mr Andrew Lumsden Corrs Chambers Westgarth Sydney
31 Mr Ron Malek Luminis Partners Sydney
32 Ms Rebecca Maslen-Stannage Herbert Smith Freehills Sydney
33 Ms Denise McComish KPMG Perth
34 Mr Robert McKenzie Jackson McDonald Perth
35 Mr Bruce McLennan Gresham Advisory Partners Sydney
36 Ms Sophie Mitchell Morgans Brisbane
37 Ms Diana Nicholson King & Wood Mallesons Melbourne
38 Mr Tony Osmond Citigroup Melbourne
39 Mr Neil Pathak Gilbert + Tobin Melbourne
40 Ms Karen Phin Company Director Sydney
41 Ms Sarah Rennie Goldman Sachs Sydney
42 Mr John Sheahan QC Barrister Sydney
43 Ms Nicola Wakefield Evans Company Director Sydney
44 Ms Sharon Warburton Company Director Perth
45 Mr David Williamson Flagstaff Partners Melbourne